taultunleashed logoFinding Memory Offsets : EVE Online General Discussions
newtopic  postreply
 [ 9 posts ] 
blue large dot

Finding Memory Offsets : EVE Online General Discussions

Posted: January 2nd, 2008, 6:01 pm
 
archdukefranz
archdukefranz's Reps:
User avatar
I've been playing around with Cheat Engine, got through the tutorial and starting playing around with eve.
First project so far was to find out where eve stores its shield rating...

Now I figure that it takes your shield strength and all other modifiers and uses them in a way that I can't just search for the end result as a handy little int

However I was able to find the end result stored as text...
Thats all well and good but er... another problem, it changes the location in memory every time and my assembly ain't too good...


00490C87 - c3 - ret
00490C88 - 80 eb 20 - sub bl,20
00490C8B - 88 1c 3e - mov [esi+edi],bl

Here is the important parts of code, I reckon it somehow jumps to
C88 or C8B... somewhere along the way... but I have yet to find out where

I'm sure if I could trace it back I could find out a shield value I can access in the same place every time


Reply with quote
Posted: January 2nd, 2008, 11:33 pm
 
koji00

Total Posts: 42
Joined: August 16th, 2007, 7:44 pm
koji00's Reps: 7
User avatar
I could help you with this, but the problem is....is it server side or client side? My bet is it's server side. I'll check it tomorrow morning and find where the address writes to. What are you exactly trying to do? You'r loking for shield rating and what do you want to do with it?


Reply with quote
Posted: January 3rd, 2008, 3:25 am
 
archdukefranz
archdukefranz's Reps:
User avatar
koji00 (!empty($user->lang['WROTE'])) ? $user->lang['WROTE'] : ucwords(strtolower(str_replace('_', ' ', 'WROTE'))):
I could help you with this, but the problem is....is it server side or client side? My bet is it's server side. I'll check it tomorrow morning and find where the address writes to. What are you exactly trying to do? You'r loking for shield rating and what do you want to do with it?


I'm not trying to edit the shield value, just trying to read it...
So in that case the client helps...

I'm trying to get a feel for how the eve game file works... I reckon that with enough practice at finding memory locations and I'll be able to write a bot to do anythign I want...

Getting the shield value is important to pretty much any bot.. its an answer to the question, should I stay or should I go.


Reply with quote
Posted: January 21st, 2008, 4:57 am
 
Tault_nazeroth

Total Posts: 1390
Joined: November 17th, 2004, 5:16 pm
Tault_nazeroth's Reps: 1
User avatar
Moderator
premium
EVE-Online is most definately a server-side game, like most MMO's. I hope your not trying to actually EDIT any values, as that would be a fruitless task in the extreme. If your just trying to read the values and use them in your bot then thats workable. Though i can't help you much, i haven't done memory editing in years. Sorry.

_________________
Quick links:
EQ2 Script Catalogue
X-Unleashed / Exhume Installation Guide


Reply with quote
Posted: March 19th, 2008, 8:09 pm
 
striker12
striker12's Reps:
User avatar
yea eve is server side. but knowing the math calculations behind everything is invaluable when used properly. :)


Reply with quote
Posted: May 21st, 2008, 6:30 pm
 
tault_hyperviper
tault_hyperviper's Reps:
User avatar
I at one time has a marvelous epiphany with Cheat Engine for Eve... I knew Eve was a server side game, so it got me thinking, is there any time when it isn't. Then it hit me, so I played around with it... Did a lot of rescanning to narrow down the memory offsets and finally got what I was looking for. What I did was during the character creation screen, the game does not communicate with the server, so I was wondering what would happen when I changed the values for how many attributes you can have. I ended up jacking up the character to something small to start off, like +8 across the bored. But as luck would have it, the second you finish the rest of the wizard and go to enter the game, it locks up and your character does not get created. They must have some sort of procedure to check for abnormalities with such things.


Reply with quote
Posted: June 12th, 2008, 3:05 am
 
souperdave0565
souperdave0565's Reps:
User avatar
Hey guys, any thoughts on ways of getting at the text displayed on the client at any given time. I've fiddled with some OCR stuff (screenshot etc), not having any luck yet.


Reply with quote
Posted: September 4th, 2008, 9:17 pm
 
koji00

Total Posts: 42
Joined: August 16th, 2007, 7:44 pm
koji00's Reps: 7
User avatar
Tault_hyperviper (!empty($user->lang['WROTE'])) ? $user->lang['WROTE'] : ucwords(strtolower(str_replace('_', ' ', 'WROTE'))):
I at one time has a marvelous epiphany with Cheat Engine for Eve... I knew Eve was a server side game, so it got me thinking, is there any time when it isn't. Then it hit me, so I played around with it... Did a lot of rescanning to narrow down the memory offsets and finally got what I was looking for. What I did was during the character creation screen, the game does not communicate with the server, so I was wondering what would happen when I changed the values for how many attributes you can have. I ended up jacking up the character to something small to start off, like +8 across the bored. But as luck would have it, the second you finish the rest of the wizard and go to enter the game, it locks up and your character does not get created. They must have some sort of procedure to check for abnormalities with such things.


I know this is a couple months old ,but it gave me an idea to test it. I can actually set it so when I creat a character it gives me 3 3 3 3 3. I can go all the way to the Creat Screen. HOWEVER it says "Failed for some reason". Now my question is do you think you could log the packets sent when creating a character and the packets it sends when sayins Failed for some reason and make it so when it says Failed it sends the packets for Creating?...Just a thought :?


Reply with quote
Posted: October 7th, 2009, 10:45 pm
 
michaelofdover1

Total Posts: 1
Joined: October 7th, 2009, 9:10 pm
michaelofdover1's Reps: 0
User avatar
What I have seen from doing character creations and nibling the addresses and values, is that there seems to be something as simple as a sum check in the skill values. For example

If you have 4 skill level slots that each have 3 skill slots and you are a certain type of character/faction, you have a base line set to the type and amounts of skills that that character is allowed to posess.

So if i have a choice of spreading out 5 skill points among the 4 skill levels, but each level has a minimum attribute that resides in the characters personality, then you have a basic sum check type.

Slot Skill 1 _ _ _
Slot Skill 2 _ _ _
Slot Skill 3 _ _ _
Slot Skill 4 _ _ _

So lets make it harder, each skill level has a minimum assigned skill point.
Ex:
Slot 1 - Int - X _ _ Minimum of 1 Skill point assigned.
Slot 2 - Perc - X X _ Minmum of 2 Skill point assigned.
Slot 3 - Will - X _ _ Minimum of 1 Skill point assigned.
Slot 4 - Hp - X _ _ Minimum of 1 Skill point assigned.

So that leaves you with 5 assigned skill points noted by the X, and 7 empty skill points slots open noted by the _. But we only have 5 available skill points that we can assign to the above open skill point slots noted by the _.

Its kinda like, the old way of cracking winzip protected files to be able to make a keygenerator that would crak the password.

I think. I started playing the game and accidently got addicted.

But yea, if I wanted to prevent you from cheating on character creation at startup, I would use some type of redundent algorithm that would create a sum check type on base line values there by negating and hex editing.

In otherwords, if the greatest amount of skill points an inventor could have total at character creation was 15, with 10 of those skill points already assigned as base line points, you would only have 5 points to work with, but when you tried to create character and the points added up to 50, I would give you a fail check.

The game is server side and our computers are no more than super hi-tech dummy terminals like the ones used in the old days when you only had a a VGA monitor and a keyboard full F keys to do commands, F1, Cntrl-F10.

But also unlike the dummy terminals, the data from the server is not limted to only the screen but is translated through your Pc by the EVE code on your PC that allows the values to be placed on a certain format on your PC screen. ISK data values are placed on your screen in the tool bar from data sent by the server kinda like the server memory that you can see on your screen.

If you have ever notice that at times when you check ISK it has a tendency to update, if you can catch it as it updates on you pc, the next time the server updates your pc, it might recheck itself and take your values as correct or just reset you back to its most previous update.

Dont look at the code on your screen, it useless, so is the code on your pc, its mostly graphics code or suped up Internet Explorer in a way.

Its the code streaming the updates from the server. If you can catch the code as it comes in and then before it hits the screen translated it over to what you want, you will be able to change the code on the screen, but then again, the server could catch you and reset the values thinking the data was corrupted during transmission.


Reply with quote
Want Advertisements After The Last Post Removed? Create A Free Account!

blue large dot Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests

Popular Sections
SWTOR Cheats
Guild Wars 2 Cheats
Guild Wars 2 Hacks
Guild Wars 2 Bots
Diablo 3 Cheats
Guild Wars 2 Mods

Popular Sections
WoW Cataclysm Cheats & Exploits
WoW Cataclysm Hacks & Bots
Star Wars The Old Republic Cheats
SWTOR Mods
Torchlight 2 Cheats
SWTOR Space Mission Bots
Site Nav and RSS
RSS Feed of EVE Online General Discussions RSS Feed 
Sitemap of EVE Online General Discussions Sitemap 
SitemapIndex SitemapIndex
RSS Feed RSS Feed
Channel list Channel list
left bottom corner Site and Contents Copyright 2001-2012 All Rights Reserved TaultUnleashed.com bottom corner
top left
top right
createaccount
Username:   Password:   Remember Me?