[ 5 posts ] 
blue large dot

Programing Help : VGExtreme General Discussion

Posted: June 26th, 2008, 5:03 am

pharaohsrevenge

Total Posts: 6
pharaohsrevenge's Reps: 0
premium
I have been using this site for about 2 years now. I started with EQ2. I have a programming background but in a “Proprietary” programming environment. The language is a derivative of “C” but the syntax is very different than what I am seeing in VGextreme botting programs. My question is if I want to get myself a book for dummies so I can teach myself how to write the bots what language would I need to study? I have made very basic edits to things I have downloaded but would like to get to a point of writing my own. The Vanguard bot forum seems to be almost dead or fading and much of what I have downloaded needs tweaks to work for me. I have no intention of switching to a new game anytime soon AoC let me down so I want to devote all my efforts to VGSoH.

Thanks ahead of time for any advice.

Posted: June 26th, 2008, 5:43 am

beergeek

Total Posts: 434
beergeek's Reps: 21
premium
The languages supported within the Exhume debugger are Visual Basic Script (vbs) and Java Script (js).

I have never seen anyone write a bot in js, so look for vbs information.

Most tutorials you find will be for compiled visual basic (vba), but that is a good place to start for learning syntax. Just keep in mind vbs is more limited and won't support all the features of vba (goto statements, user-defined class inheritance hierarchys, etc.)

Syntax of vbs is very simple and you should be able to figure it out just by studying some scripts on this site. here are a couple links that may help:

http://www.w3schools.com/VBscript/default.asp

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/y4wf33f0(VS.80).aspx

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ksh7h19t(VS.80).aspx