taultunleashed logoPotential New player with a couple questions : Star Wars Galaxies Discussions tu winter contest 2012 nintendo wii
newtopic  postreply
 [ 5 posts ] 
blue large dot

Potential New player with a couple questions : Star Wars Galaxies Discussions

Posted: August 19th, 2005, 5:22 am

lanton
lanton's Reps:
I am looking for a new game to play and I was wondering if you guys could answer a few of my questions.

A little bit about myself; I've been playing FFXI for a couple of years and I am getting bored with it. The grind is horrible to me. The fact that if you want to be succesful you have to be a "cookie-cutter" job build has worn on me too. I like the social aspect of it, with the "Linkshells" (for those who are unaware it's a loose network of people who can talk to eachother, outside of public channels, no matter where in the game world they are). I am also fed up with the fact that you pretty much have to be a "hard-core" gamer to make decent headway in the game. I am limited to a couple of hours a night to play, so i need those hours to be productive.

From what I have read, this game seems pretty casual gamer friendly. Some things I am curious about are:
How is the game socially?
How is the economy, stable or filled with credit sellers/buyers?
Is the high end/premium equipment available to casual players or do you have to be "teh sup3r l33t cR3dIt bUy3rZ" to get it?
Does the game suffer from a lot of Bugs?
Is the community, in general, helpful to new players?
I have noticed a lot of complaints about the last patch. Is the game still fun or has it become "FFXI Star Wars"?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Posted: August 19th, 2005, 10:08 am

Tault_admin

Total Posts: 29974
Tault_admin's Reps: 1444
administrator
Mod in Training
Alot depends on the game. Most mmorpgs you need to play alot to get up there. I always recommend AC haha.

Posted: August 19th, 2005, 11:51 am

klemmbob

Total Posts: 677
klemmbob's Reps: 137